Sisterhood

Our focus continues to be on serving the Temple and the community. Membership in Sisterhood means making a commitment to living Jewish. By being a member, you become an active link in the history of our people. You serve as a role model for Jewish values. Each member blossoms in their own individual way as they experience the camaraderie of Sisterhood and share in service to the Jewish community.

 Sisterhood President’s Message, December 2018

December is a busy month for the Sisterhood.  Sunday, December 2 was the Talent Show and annual Hannukah party.  It was an All Temple Event spearheaded by the Religious School Parent’s Association. The Preschool and Sisterhood participated.  The Talent Show was a huge success!  The Sisterhood was one of several wonderful acts.  Many  thanks to Marlene Dreyfuss and Lucy Berman who wrote our song and Anya Marshall who directed us.  Also thanks to all who sang, Susie Berman, Marlene Dreyfuss, Shirley Abramson, Lucy Berman, and Fran Bourne Johnson and Anya Marshall.  You did a great job!

It is wonderful to have our own Eileen Martin back after her accident and surgery.  Thanks for helping with the serving.  Many thanks to Cherie Rye who headed up the Food Committee. Thanks also to the members of the RSPA and anyone else who made latkes or brought something else.

The Sisterhood is wrapping at Barnes and Noble on the following dates.  So, please come, shop and let us wrap your packages.  This is an annual fundraiser for the Sisterhood.

Dates and times are as follows:

Tues Dec. 4 12:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Wed Dec. 5 12:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Wed Dec.12   3:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Sun Dec. 16 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Mon Dec. 17 12:00 PM to 6:00 PM
Tues Dec. 18   3:00 PM to 6:00 PM
Wed Dec. 19 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Fri Dec. 21 10:00 PM to 1:00 PM
Sat Dec. 22 10:00 PM to 1:00 PM
Sun Dec. 23   7:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Mon Dec. 24 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM and 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM

The Sisterhood will again be participating in “Hanukkah in the Foothills”, an annual event started and spearheaded by Lucy Berman.  The Sisterhood will again offer  “Fill your donut with jelly” .

the event is Monday, December 10 at 6:00 PM at the Elks Lodge, 10137 Commerce Ave., Tujunga, CA.  Last year it was a great event with huge community support.  We hope to see you there this year.

Many thanks to all the members of the Sisterhood for all you do.

Our next meeting is next year, Sunday, January 6, 2019.

Happy New Year!

Regards,

Fran Bourne Johnson

President, TBE Sisterhood

franbourne@gmail.com

617-306-3835